M1 battery won't charge

Hej.

I’m trying to resolve this with customer support but since it will take some time to sort out, I thought I might ask here to see if anyone knows what is wrong and maybe even knows how to fix it? Any help is very appreciated! I’m not very tech savvy and google was not my friend regarding this issue.

Some info:

*The battery was not in the board while charging.

*Battery was empty and was charging fine until I had to disconnect it due to continuing my ride. Battery level was at 60% when disconnected. I have two batteries and continued my ride with the other one

*When I arrived at home and put it in the charger again, it would not charge anymore.

*Took a short ride to see if the battery was working at all. The board took off but even tough the battery level was at 60%, I was getting the low battery vibration from the controller. Stopped immediately to not damage the battery any further.

*The other battery is working fine, which rules out the charger, I guess?

I spoke to a friend who is into RC and drones and he said it might be a “balance issue” and asked me to open the battery and check inside. Depending on the answer from support, I might do just that but maybe there is a easy fix?

Any ideas?

I am not an alectrician but this sound more like broken BMS IMO

1 Like

Tanks for your reply. Sounds like a fairly reasonable scenario. If I’ll open it up, I’ll try to bypass the BMS and se if the battery starts charging again.

I found this thread about a guy who built his own custom pack, without BMS : M1 custom battery pack.. I’ve shot him a message but hasn’t got at reply. If I understand him correctly there is overcharge protection in the charger and the board itself will warn me before the battery is critically low. What I don’t get, is how the batteries are balanced? Isn’t there a chance that single cells will be destroyed because of to low voltage without a BMS?