Maytech vs Koowheel - why the price difference?

Hi all,

Dummy alert I’m new to electric skateboard building - I read what I could, but still have a lot of (probably dumb) questions /Dummy alert

Currently, I am thinking about building a DIY esk8, and because I’m on a tight budget (plus I live in EU), I looked at the Chinese market.

For a couple of reasons, I want a hub motor drive. On Aliexpress, I found these two offers:

Maytech:

Koowheel: (link edited, thanks for the heads-up, Nick!)

Both are approx. the same price, but the Koowheel is the complete board incl. Batttery, while the maytech is just the drive & electronics.

I don’t need the board, as I’m converting a deck of my own. But I wonder if I should just strip down the Koowheel…

Why this difference between them? is Maytech substantially better?

Thanks a lot for sharing your insights.

1 Like

I think you got the wrong link for koowheels, presumably you meant this one.

First of all, the specs for that are bullshit. With 2x 250W hub motors it probably doesn’t go 45km/h. And if it does it DEFINITELY can’t climb a 25% grade hill. It’s listed as having a 4.4Ah 10S battery pack, which should yield around 15km of range, not even close to the listed 35-40km.

As for Maytech, their products are generally pretty good. In that package the hub motors are listed as 800W (presumably 2x 400W). Still not very good but reasonable for hub motors. It also comes with 2 VESCs which are likely much better than what you can find in the Koowheels board.

i think @RunPlayBack did a video about having the koowheel board that i saw somewhere but haven’t seen a follow up video about performance. Maybe he can chime in on his thoughts.