Motor Detection Failed, but motor is spinning

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I’ve been reading posts for a while. I’m setting up the VESC for the first time and I keep getting the error “Bad detection result received” when I try to detect the motor. When I hit “start detection” the motor spins up to 24,000 ERPM stops accelerating and then jumps up to 45,000 ERPM momentarily before cutting off.

The motor spins fine using the arrow keys, however I cant get it to detect. I have tried varying the Current and Min ERPM to no avail (300-1200 ERPM & 1-6A current). The motor always spins fine but wont detect. I have also tried varying the Battery cutoff voltages and changing to a much shorter USB cable. There are currently no faults when I check the terminal

Here are my current settings

I am using a TORQUEBOARDS VESC 4.12 Turnigy SK3 5055 430Kv motor (max 70A) 4X2S 8000maH batteries in series (8S, 29.6V 30C continuous)

I’m not sure if the high kV of my motor is causing the problem? If you have any suggestions I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

-milesperhour

just spitballing here, are your batteries fully charged ?

you’ve done most of what i’d do. I’d double check you have the belt/wheel disconnected if it might be part of the issue. I had one not detect when my belt was too tight, removed belt and detected fine.

Also, might here might be some usefull information … http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/vesc-motor-detection-failing/6640?u=ikjahaa

Detection current is a bit low, try 6A

EDIT: nevermind i see you’ve done that

No my batteries are at ~50%. Ill try charging them

There’s nothing on my motor shaft. It’s completely free

ah it’s your max erpm limit. Your hitting almost 90k erpm during detection but your limit is set to 60k. You need a new motor…

Why does he need a new one if he is almost hitting 90k erpm? Can it fry the VESC?

Can’t I limit the max ERPM from the BLDC ? I have it set to 60,000 right now.