Motor Pulley Mod

This is my first time building an E Board and I came on to a problem, the pulley that I got for my board has a 10mm hole and the motors that I bought have a 8mm shaft so after trying to buy for the second time a new pulley, the site that i tried to order the pulley never shiped it to me and after the second atempt I decided that I would fix the problem myself and save some money in the process

Lets start

First the problem 20190506_225525 20190506_225540

Has you can see the pulley is too big for the motor so I had to come up with a solution

And here it is

After a trip to the shop I bought this 20190508_163301 A stainless steel pipe with and outer diameter of 10mm and a inner diameter of 8mm

The step back

The pipe is a bit to big for the hole

20190508_163839

After a bit of filing, I was able to make the tube enter very snuggly and I had to use a vise to force the tube in 20190506_225614 20190506_225656

But there is still the problem of the screw holes for the mounting screws

So after a drill the holes with a 3mm drillbit I had to go again to the store to buy to buy some 4mm tapping holes tips and hand tap the holes " didn’t have any 4mm tips" 20190508_163500 20190507_185809

After a bit of filing to clean the holes

Success! It all fits together! 20190506_225727 20190507_193308

Give me your opinion on what you think of this mod Hope you guys like it

5 Likes

You didn’t really explain what you are doing with the rod but it looks like you are going to replace the motor shaft with it? If so just order a pulley that fits your motor shaft, it will save you a lot of time and effort and might keep you from breaking your motor

1 Like

No he has a motor with 8mm shaft and a pulley with 10mm bore. Hes using the pipe as a adaptor.

2 Likes

No key way in the pulley right? Use red loctite on both the pipe and shaft. Remember to drill 1 or 2 holes in the pipe for the set crews.

2 Likes