My experience with MBoards

Over the past few months, I have decided to build my own electric skateboard. I was really excited about this project, as I am a third-year mechanical engineering student that was eager to apply my knowledge from my studies. I started this project like every engineering problem should be started, and that is by doing research about the topic. I contacted friends, watched videos, read forums, and did some simple calculations to make sure everything will work properly.

Once that was all finished, I started to order my parts. (For context, I decided to go with a single motor belt-driven design). I ordered my parts from all over the place like Aliexpress, Amazon, McMaster Carr, MBoards, and tons of others. To preface, I am a Canadian citizen that lives in Ontario. This became really costly as most of the part suppliers were American and added a LOT of expenses such as currency exchange, expensive shipping, and customs fees.