My first 400$ e-board. Need some help :)

Hey guys!

Recently got inspired by Casey Neistat and his boosted board to create my own! As I’m a student the budget was to be kept low and as such these are the items i went with;

46$: Rotostar 120A SBEC - I forgot to buy a programming card so i have no clue what the beep sequences are :frowning:

20$: Quanum Tx and Rx - Surprisingly small which is a good thing

51$: Motor mount from enertion - Quality stuff. My trucks are round so i just tightened these as much as possible

39$: 12mm pulley kit from enertion - Drilled holes in my wheels and just shoved the big pulley in there

167$: 6372 motor from enertion - This thing is a beast.

70$: 2x 5000mah 3s LiPOs - Cheaper all in all and thinner i think

Total: 393 USD (the prices may be slighty off)

I had a longboard laying around that i simply mounted all of this stuff on. I am not a guy who does things neatly and as such i simply taped all the components to the hull of my board and went to the races. This thing accelerates incredibly fast and the top speed is borderline scary. A huge success all in all! :slight_smile: I have a few problems that i might need some sage advice on.

1. My ESC is a rotostar 120a SBEC bought from hobbyking. They don’t list the beep sequences for programming it and i forgot to buy a programming card in my frenzy. The two main problems with it is the braking and the acceleration. The brake simply stops the motor in its tracks which is scary when you are going 25km/h. The acceleration is that of a helicopter so it slowly ramps up which isn’t too bad but i’d like it to go a little faster.

2. Like i said before my trucks are round. This doesn’t favour the caliber shaped motor mount bought from enertion. I realize that trucks being round is fairly stupid in this case but i was wonder if you had some advice on how to make it more bearable. Perhaps filling the hole somehow or adding additional set screws?