My first build - questions

Hello guys,

My first post here - I have couple of questions regarding the build I’m finishing now. Thank you in advance for any help that you can provide.

I’ve been riding my V2+Boosted for several years and l love it. However, when joy riding on empty roads or beautiful paved bike paths I often feel like I want to accelerate faster, or go faster in general. So one year ago I decided to make my own DIY longboard. I’ve done the research, purchased majority of parts and then didn’t have any time to finish it :slight_smile: Now, a year later I decided to finish it and immediately made some changes (including changing to DT deck). It is supposed to be a performance build, so I was trying to get the best components available back then.

I’m a mechanical and nuclear engineer in nature, but during my studies and even now at my job, I’ve always struggled with the electrical part. So I have couple of questions mostly regarding the battery and BMS. I am using four high discharge hobby 3S LiPos (5000mAh, 50C) that I want to connect in series to create 12S battery pack.

1. could you please double check my wiring diagram? Is it better to solder all the joints, or is using XT60 connectors fine?

2. I don’t have BMS now and I will charge the LiPos separately for the initial testing, but eventually I want to install it and i would like to prepare all the wiring in advance. How do I connect the BMS (I want it bypassed for discharge) and charging connector?

3. what BMS would you recommend me for 12S LiPos? (I prefer to have more flexibility in the BMS as I expect I will change the build in the future)

4. antispark - what’s the purpose? I’ve seen it on several diagrams here, but missing on others. Is it necessary when I’m using focbox Unity? It seems to be almost impossible to buy XT60 antispark around here…

5. since I will not be using the BMS now, what to do with the battery balance connectors? Leave them as is?