Need some advice with my first at/street build

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Esk8 and new to the forum. I live in the United States in Southern California, near Disneyland. So, close to the beaches, mountains and desert. Nice skate weather practically year round here. I’ve ridden skateboards on and off since I was a kid and wanted to get back into it. I picked up a longboard to tool around on and eventually went electric and picked up a Wowgo 2s for around $400 to get my feet wet. Almost fractured my arm the first day :astonished:. I was trying to get the hang of carving and over corrected, landing onto my outstretched hand. However, I could’t wait to get back on the board, and I am now ready to build my own board with better specs and performance.

Parts I’m currently considering:

Deck:

Moonshine%20Elixir%201 Moonshine%20Elixir%202 Moonshine%20Elixir%203 Wheelbase

Trucks, mounts, motors and belt system:

Haggy drive system

VESC/ESC:

Still contemplating between the following and would gladly take advice:

VESC 6 plus x2 with trampa wand?

Flipsky Dual FSESC 6.6 with VX1 or VX2 remote?

Unity with Enertion nano remote?

Batttery:

10s4p or 12s4p battery pack built by MBoards

Enclosure:

The enclosure I’m not sure yet. I was thinking of something from psychotiller might work for this set up. Again, advice welcomed.

So, my questions at this point are: Do you think this deck will work clearance wise with the Haggy drive system?

I hear so much debate about VESC/ESC and often wonder why more people just don’t go with the OG VESC from Vedder if everything is based on it anyway. But opinions welcome.

Should I go with the 10sp4p or 12s4p and would either work on this deck, meaning is there enough room for the 12s4p if I wanted to go that route?

Look forward to getting some feedback and start purchasing parts and documenting this build.

1 Like