[New Builder] Battery capacity tester

I want to permanently mount a capacity tester on top of my board so that I know how much juice I have got left while riding. I came across this unit which is supposed to be water resistant.

Im running a 12s battery (4x 3s in series) and a vedder Anti spark switch. The question is where do you hook the voltage tester up and how? I am a newbie when it comes to electronics. Also, will I be able to monitor the capacity of the 4 batteries in series as if they were one? Or do I need 4 Testers.

Thanks in advance!

Wire the red wire to the positive (+) lead of the anti-spark switch output / VESC input. Wire the black wire to the negative (-). Red to red; black to black.

Please don’t take this the wrong way, but it slightly worries me that you are building a high power electric vehicle and don’t know how to wire a voltmeter… I trust you can do it with enough research. Just don’t burn down your house :wink:

2 Likes

Will try. :dizzy_face: Thanks man!

Please enlighten me. What is a antispark and what is its purpose?. my board will have a permanently mounted battery my plan is to just have a switch to turn it on and off.

the higher the voltage - the more of a spark you will get when connecting the battery each time. Or turning it on. Usually i’d suggest if you are 8s-12s range to use anti-spark switch or anti-spark loop key. You could also use it for 6s, but i don’t feel it’s quite as needed. Each time it “sparks” it wears away some of the metal, so over time your switch and battery contacts will wear/erode away eventually.

Simplest solution - an XT-90s anti-spark loop key. Stupid simple and a fun quick project if you have a decent soldering iron, some basic solder skills, and a few minutes of time to spare: http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/how-to-anti-spark-xt-90-loop-key/204