New chat window, disable

@onloop

first, chat doesn’t work. when i try to say something the status circle just spins, message is not delivered.

for me, the chat window is open by default and comes back on every new page load.

i see there’s a setting to disable chat but change in setting does not persist.

7 Likes

Also, the admins can type in the chatbox because how the permissions are set up. You have to delete all of the messages or increase the 10k posting limit.

1 Like

Why hasn’t that been fixed? I’ve seen the system message about 10k, but that was forever ago. Why not just clone the thread and reset the chat?

1 Like

Im not saying that I know the ins and outs of esk8’s back end but I am a software engineer who has done a mandatory unit of web design in uni. Setting up a looping chat system that only stores the last 10k post limit should be easy to do.

Hell, even the sudocode is only 2 lines

If chatPosts >= 10,000 delete 100 chatPosts from bottom of data stack Done

1 Like

Not sure if this is what your talking about, but somebody please tell me how to stop the chat window from automatically opening each time I open the start page.

1 Like

Just don’t open the start page :sweat_smile:… Or use mobile version. There it will not happen. That’s what I do now because it’s a kind of annoying to always close it…

Ha, ha. I like to see what’s going on!

Unfortunately, on my iPad, mobile or desktop version, both open a new tab on the left of the page with the chat channel. I thought I might have done something by accident, but I can’t get rid of it.

1 Like

I removed it with stylebot extension

You can also use Adblock, a chrome extension.

2 Likes

is this going to be fixed, can we at least have the option to disable the thing? like i mentioned before it’s an option but does NOT save the changes.

@moderators

2 Likes

@mmaner why don’t we just make a discord server?

Discourse is way better than discord. Plus, there exists already such a thing…