Newbie 4 x 3s 5000 mah

Hi all I am new to all this and are in the process of building my own electric longboard, I wanted to know if it’s possible to charge a configuration of 6s 10000 mah, 2 parallel and 2 in series, in an enclosure, I know I need some sort of bms and the connections will come out of the enclosure which will be screwed down, I was looking at getting a imax b6 charger, any help would be appreciated or diagrams

Hi I am about to upgrade my build to the exact specs you have. You won’t actually need a BMS, but you can get one if you want. A 6S balance charger would also work (imax would be fine).

EDIT: You don’t need both

1 Like

You need either the BMS or iMax B6 balance charger. With BMS you can use any charger suitable for 6S (25.2V charger), that will have no screen or settings and look more like a standard laptop charger. In this case BMS will do the math for you and take the right amount of charge that is needed for the battery. As the charger will have no screen or LED, you will also probably need the battery charge level indicator (something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/401274141397?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&var=670886999536&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT).

With iMax B6 it is in a way easier, because you will be able to charge your battry pack from the box and see on the screen, how it is charging. The drawback of this method is, that you will need to configure the way, you need to charge in the imax settings every time, so it is not 100% plug and play solution. iMax B6 also has a screen, so you will know, how is your battery doing during the charging process, if interested.

If you are willing to spend a little extra money you can also get a charger from a local hobby shop (I got one for around $50 I think). It has a few more features than the iMax (fan, miliohm reader), and just generally feels safer. Just a thought.

So on the charger, with the 2 5000 mah batteries, will it show 10000