Noob Battery Questions

Hi everyone! I’m looking to convert my 46 in pintail longboard into and e-board and I have a few questions. I’ve read through the FAQ at least three times and I’m still not sure what would work best for me. I’m 160lb and my commute to campus is a slight uphill slope probably around a 5% grade for around 2 miles. Given how much space I have on my deck I want to put as much range on it as possible so I don’t have to worry about charging much. I was thinking since this is my first build to just use lipos since I’m trying to keep costs down while also using a BMS. I’m thinking 10s4p could work well but I’m still not sure which ones would work best. Top speed I’m hoping to hit around 25 mph with a single motor setup. I’m planning on using 83mm flywheel clones but I’m also not sure what motor would best suit me. If you have any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it!

If I were you, I would go with Single 190kv 6374 Motor, VESC and 10S1P LiPo (I would use 5x 8000 2S LiPo https://hobbyking.com/en_us/zippy-flightmax-8000mah-2s1p-30c.html and connect them in series to make it stealth…if you have flexy deck, it might be a problem…then i would go with 5S batteries) With 15/36 gear ratio it would give you max speed of ~40kmph (http://calc.esk8.it/#{“batt-type-lipo”:1,“batt-cells”:10,“motor-kv”:190,“system-efficiency”:900,“motor-pulley-teeth”:15,“wheel-pulley-teeth”:36,“wheel-size”:83}|)

If you can afford more, then change the battery for LiIon 10S4P

1 Like

Thank you so much! It’s a super stiff deck so that shouldn’t be a problem. What sort of range could I expect with this?