Noob Build: Parts List

Hello All!

This is going to first be a list of the components going into my DIY electric longboard and then transforming into a build log. But first, a bit about me (because I’m conceited and love talking about myself…not really).

I’m a master student in upstate New York, recently got my bachelor in Mechanical Engineering. I LOVE LOVE LOVE (did I mention LOVE?) DIY stuff and tinkering with electronics a bit. I have an extensive multi-year background working with drones in both hobby, recreational, research and commercial applications. Thus, I keep up with news and topics about those types of electronics which led me to these longboard thingies. I use to skateboard as a kid, longboarded for a couple years but have not been on a board in years. I have scoured forums, looked at countless build logs, read opinions, filtered through personal insults and come up with what I have decided is going to be a decent first build for myself. I’m 6’2" - 215 pounds, hardly any hills around here, though I might find some if I look hard…

I have no idea about range (anyone want to point me in the direction of some rules of thumb/calculators to determine range?) but without further ado…adue…a-doo…? Here is the list of parts I have already purchased and is now on the way here (Merry Christmas to me!!)

Board: -Arbor Axis Maple 40" (originally was going to make my own Loaded Vanguard clone, but time is of the essence) -Caliber 2 50 deg. Trucks -Pacific Flyer Abec 9 Bearings -83mm Flywheels (Abec clones from Amazon)

Propulsion System -Alien 6374 HEV 240KV 3300W for mono drive -DIYElectric VESC

Mounting -DIYElectric Mono Drive Kit: >13/36 tooth 12mm wide pulleys > Single motor mount for Caliber Trucks

Power System

• (2) 4s 6000mah Turnigy running in series to make 8s 6000mah
  • DIYElectric Power Switch
  • 8s lipo balance BMS 4A charge/ 15A discharge (bypassing to use for charging only)
  • XLR microphone connectors