Opinions needed: board has a crack. Safe?

Hello guys, so I bought a new board and the guy said it only have some scratches while removing the wheels bevause I bought only the deck but actually it looks broken.

At the moment the guy gave me two options, Get full money back - 50€ He gives me 20€ back and I keep it like that.

I’m not experienced with skateboards and I would like to have your opinion about it. I can’t tell how deep the crack is, I tried putting some force and see if it would open a little more but it holds pretty good. Will I be OK with this OK? What if I install a metal plate under so it re-enforces it? I mean like an underpad raiser that would also prevent the nuts digging inside the board as it is a drop through mount.

Here some pictures:

It took a hit on the edge as you can see. IMG_20180902_152610IMG_20180902_152634IMG_20180902_151542Uploading…

The pads I mean something like this maybe larger under the board. IMG_20180903_122519

What do you guys think? Do I just send it back and look for a new one? It is 93cm with a W shape koston talisman deck

I’d say avoid the risk unless you’re willing to add carbon fiber layers to compensate for the compromised wood. If that deck ends up being the reason you fall at high speed, it won’t be pretty.

4 Likes

personally, id strip it down to its bare minimum and cover it in a layer of fibreglass on the top and bottom. Another option is to use a bowl or something and fill it with epoxy resin, and place the end into the bowl so that it completely covers the crack and some. Then once its hard use a grinder to grind back the epoxy and leave a clean finish. You can then do another layer of fibreglass on top of that if you want complete strength. This will however completely remove all flex

It’s only at the tip, I worry only because it is around a screw hole because it is at the tip here it doesn’t flex much.

IMG_20180903_135107

1 Like