Planning a First budget build for a hilly area

Howdy guys. I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a board for quite some time, but me being me, I thought maybe I’d build one. Most of my hobbies entail me building things from scratch if I can.

I’m a bit stunned with the minor details. I’ve always struggled with most of my hobbies when it came to sourcing parts. (Airsoft was one of them and understanding gear ratios in the gearboxes took me a bit longer than it should have)

Anyway, I’m in the UK with quite a hilly area surrounding me. I’d probably want something that could pull me up a 20-25% gradient hill. (I’m 90KG) I wouldn’t be going very long distances, but I’d like to use it for lesure to cruise about and enjoy myself.

When it comes to parts, I’m a novice with longboards, but I have a friend that said he may be able to give me his older longboard as he has a new one. I’d probably keep the deck and replace the wheels and bushings.

I’m confident when it comes to building a motor mount and I have plenty of silicone wire, XT90’s and other electronic components that I’ve previously used for my airsoft builds and other hobbies.

I only see myself needing to buy a set of wheels, (83MM?) VESC, controller, bigger lipos, motor, pinion and gear and the belt.

I was wondering what are the pro’s and cons for chain driven systems.

And what motor, drive system and batteries would I have to look for to meat my requirments.

Chain drive is not as silent as belt drive and it needs more maintenence…but you will never have to change your belts :slight_smile:

15/36 5HTD 9-12mm dual 6354 on 10s should give you enough speed and hill climbing :slight_smile: if you dont want that high speed, you can go just with a single 6374 with higher gear ratio (http://calc.esk8.it/)

1 Like

Hey there- On the topic of Chain Drives, my senior friend made this sweet build(posted it on reddit esk8 forum there)-