Please rate/ advise me on my soldering

I have been trying to make a DIY spot welder from car batteries and Arduinos for weeks and have had no success. As a result I’ve opted for soldering. I know the basics: don’t short, hot soldering iron and small contact time to reduce heat. However this is my first time and would appreciate any advice or help this community can give! I’m using nickel strip and 60 year-old lead roof welding tool as it has a huge thermal mass.

N.b. Video is completely unedited

[Video of soldering ](https://youtu.be/7elmqgiLpKk)

Some screenshots from the video: image image image image image

1 Like

I can’t say anything about how you’ve done because I probably know less than you, But Thanks for giving photos as an option here!

@darkkevind makes and sells Soldered battrey packs here, maybe he could give some input.

1 Like

Nickel is not the easiest to solder on. Guess you would go better by using a copper wire or bar. Where are you located? Maybe somebody here can rent you a spot welder

3 Likes

Weld the solder to the cell first. Then weld solder to the conductor. (nickel in this case) Then weld them together.

Also, everytime you solder anything you should always try your best to pull them apart after cooling. If you can pull it apart, it was a bad weld and needs to be redone anyway. This kind-of applies to 18650s also. You want to do that, but you don’t want to accidentally short things out, either.

You should keep a piece of metal handy so that after you remove the iron you can press it on the end of the cell to suck the heat out faster and keep the heat from going as deep into the cell.

Also, protip: the positive connections are the most difficult, so it’s better to troubleshoot those ends

Also if you’re soldering, you may as well use copper and not nickel.

4 Likes

The nickel strip has been nice to me so far, I think it grips easier with the scuffs. I live in London. I’ve tried to find people but no luck so far…