Pretty spot welded battery's?

https://m.aliexpress.com/s/item/32814189809.html?spm=a2g0n.search-cache.0.0.2e3aa29b6tGUot#autostay

I’m not too good with this stuff but I thought it 2as kind of cool.

They are individually tabbed…no use for us

Oh, I thought that meant you could just solder the tabs together.

You could but I doubt they’re pure nickel and you still need to connect in series,those tabs won’t handle series connections.

Also I would never trust welds that look like this Horribly skinny too

Mine look like this

@Sapphirinia if you bring me cells I’ll spotweld them in whatever configuration you want while you wait (30-45min)

4 Likes

Hm I was gonna keep quiet but others might be curious.

Is that 10mm 0.2mm pure nickel, 2 layers? Is it enough to handle the current?

On a 3P I find single layer more than enough, on 4+ I double up Also I feel it makes a difference having the series nickel covering the length of both P, vs just nickel between the last and first cell

I’ll be doing a write-up of the all the 30q packs I’m making after I’m done with them

This is so confusing, I’m trying to figure out how much conductor I want in my packs.

from 18650 spot welding -how to- ULTIMATE REPOSITORY | Endless Sphere DIY EV Forum

Resistance is a function of volume, so cross section times length. .2mm * 10mm = 2mm^2. On the chart (being lazy), .3mm * 7mm is closest to 2mm^2, which is: <10A optimal ~15A acceptable

20A poor/hot

Your photo shows 1 series connection between parallel groups, so that connection carries the full amperage of the pack. I know I pull 60A out of my pack quite often, though only a few seconds at a time.

The table above also looks very conservative to me.

I feel like I need to build a proper DC load and test this for myself…