Project esk8 | Dual Hub motors | 10S3P | VESC | Validation from the community?!

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the electric skateboard community and I would like some sort of validation from you guys. I’m currently building an electric skateboard as a project for my school. I have been reading a lot during the past month to understand the basic knowledge before starting anything. So here I am, a month later, finishing my design before building it.

Here’s my specs:

• Custom camber symmetrical bamboo longboard
  • Dual Rear Hub motors (preferably Jacobbloy EMF Hub motors)
  • SPACE CELL 36V 10S Electric Skateboard Battery and charger (Enertion)
  • 2x VESC-X Motor Controller (Enertion)
  • 2.4 GHz Mini remote controller with receiver
  • Custom made battery cell protector

The total of build should be around 1200 $ CAD.

Here’s my 3D modeling on CATIA V5

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated, cheers!

Phil

Where are you located? I have some never used EMF hub motors that I don’t use because i switched to another project. I am in Germany

Edit: just saw the CAD…

1. Why use the EMF hubs? They have a very well known problem with urathane slippage. @raphy is developing some new larger 100mm urathane wheels that remedy the slippage, pm him if youre set on using those hubs.

2. EMF hubs on 36V would only go 18mph. Thats really slow IMO. (The 100mm wheels will help with this).

3. $1200 can buy a pretty nice prebuilt complete, just saying.

For a little more $ I think the torqueboards 12S3P battery and some Carvon motors would be great options to consider.

Thanks @BigBoyToys for the comments!

Actually, I was looking for powerful hubs. I didn’t know there were other guys developing some new larger and less slippery hubs. Good to know! Also, I’m not looking for a fast build, more like a cruiser to go to school, climbing some hills and a good battery autonomy. Nothing too fancy.