Question about setup

Hey Im new to building electric boards, My current setup is a 170KV motor, With a 12s li-po pack and a 16T/36T gear ratio set up. When riding the board, I don’t feel as if enough torque is being produced and so max speed isn’t reached. Im using a vsec, any help would be good! Also the wheels have a diameter of 70mm. Mathematically the top speed should be 50km/h. I plan on buying 83 mm wheels, which would further decrease torque, so what is my cheapest option here?

If you have access to a 3D printer you could print a 32T wheel pulley. That’s probably the cheapest method increasing torque, but it will alos decrease top speed.

I do have access to one! If i wanted better speed + torque, Would I need a stronger motor? If so what would you recommend kv wise, I’d like to take full advantage of my 12s supply

I dont use 12s, too risky for VESC. That being said, firstly I would go to dual motor setup. Failing that, you could go to 16/32 and upgrade to a 190kv 6374 motor. That should give you an increase in torque and speed.

post a screenshot of your vesc settings.

Yeah, your setup is pretty good, should have LOTS of power. It might be the VESC settings or your batteries can’t handle the current. Screenshots would help. Is it 6355 motor?

That will increase speed and reduce torque…

1 Like

the decrease in gear size should increase torque and the increase in motor kv should increase speed? Is that not correct?

A decrease in gear size on the wheel will reduce torque. The increase in KV will also reduce torque but increase the speed.

1 Like

Reducing wheel pulley teeth will increase speed while decreasing torque. You want a smaller motor side pulley down to 15 or even 14 but you also want to keep in mind you want 6 teeth in mesh.

@anoop54 if you account for voltage sag and 95% duty cycle you should be at about 42km/h top speed. What top speed are you getting?