Questions with first build

Hello everyone!

I am Patrik from Sweden. I am in the process of buying all components for my diy eboard. Since this is my first build I am glad to have found this forum to search and ask some questions.

1. Pneumatic or urethane? I will order my motor mount from aliendrivesystems.com and he got a nice price on pneumatic wheels. Only 30£ more for a complete wheelset. This will actually be cheaper for me as I need to buy flywheels for about 100$ including shipping to Sweden.

I live in a quite big city and the roads here is in very good condition so no need to go for pneumatic because of poor road conditions.

So what is more fun, pneumatic or urethane?

1. 6s or 8s? The city I live in is absolutely flat and I don’t think we even have a single hill. Therefore I don’t need a lot of tourqe, I am more interested in getting good top speed. A 6s build will be significantly cheaper. Was thinking of getting the sk3 260kv motor. What speeds do you think I could get?

2. External charging? I have seen boards where you plug the charger straight in to the enclosure. How do I do that?

I’m sure I have a lot more questions later but this is what I thought about for now. Please share your knowledge. Thank you!

1 Like

WELCOME!

Only buy pneumatic if you have bad roads or want to ride across grass or rocks & off-road.

The pneumatic wheels will reduce the range of your battery by 15-20% they also tend to make the board heavier & more bulky.

Also, i found that depending what wheel i had it also alters what style/shape of deck i want to ride with. If you go pnuematics you do have a higher rideing height & more ground clearance so you can choose a deck with a big drop down, also it must have large cutouts.

if you go normal urethane wheels you have way more deck choices, but much less ground clearance so drop decks are not good…

the pros of urethane are:

1. better range
  2. more responsive handling
  3. lighter build
  4. less bulky