Reasonable Price VESC

Hey guys, Just wondering if anyone has any links or suggestions for reasonably priced VESCs that I can purchase in Australia. I’ve never used a Vesc before. Also what C rating is suggested for the batteries if I use either 6s or 8s batteries with the VESC. Thanks heaps

All depends on you, your situation and which kind of board you want to build and where you want to drive. Sounds complicated, but it’s not :sweat_smile: Just to give a good advice we need more info about you and your plans (board related plans :point_up::joy:)

3 Likes

there’s a flipsky vesc on aliexpress for 45 Euro. i’ve got 2 of them running 12S in FOC and it works wonders.

also, battery C rating is basically: battery capacity * C (number) = max discharge. so a 5000mAh 10c battery would technically be able to draw 50 amps. however, companies are known to exaggerate the C-rating. so stay a little bit under that number.

street board on flat roads, aim at between 20 and 50 amps.

street board on hilly roads, aim at between 30 and 60 amps

mountainboard flat roads, aim at between 30 and 60 amps

mountainboard hilly roads, aim ar vetween 40 and 80 amps

PS: idk how to space on this site, and if you’re planning an MTB get focboxes or a unity. flipsky and maytech 4.12 vescs can’t handle higher than 50A per vesc

1 Like

I’m curious about your guidelines for amps, is this figure independent of voltage (i.e. 6s, 10s) and is it total per board or per motor? I get that it’s ballpark number, not a rigorous spec…

oh right. yeah it was more of a ballpark number indeed. it was meant for the guy to guesstimate what lipo’s he should get regarding the C-rating.

Flipsky is implementing a change that will solve cutout problems entirely on their 4.20 hardware versions.

Once the change is implemented (in the coming days and weeks) it can handle 12S 60A FOC without a problem.