Recommendations for replacement battery pack

Hello friends!

So just to give a little background I have an esk8 setup I got about a year ago that is DIY but was pre-built to ride. It has a carvon v2 hub motor, vesc, and a 12s1p a123 26650 cell pack with BMS. After this winter I started riding again recently and ran into an issue where about 1-2 miles into the ride the board just cuts off and will not turn back on at all for a while even though its not reaching its cut off point or the voltage meter doesn’t seem to go down all the way. After about and hour or 2 when I charge it, it starts working again. Now it has a built in BMS and I’m not sure if thats whats faulty or the cell’s themselves. The pack is very similar in specs and setup to this although probably a slightly different model: https://victpower.en.alibaba.com/product/60437915682-800503104/Victpower_36v_lifepo4_battery_pack_36v_skate_board_2500mah_battery_pack.html

So after opening the pack and looking for loose connections I’m kinda lost as to what else I can do to fix the issue. Given that it is a cheaper pack I think just putting some money towards a quaility built pack might just be the better opition at this point. I was thinking of going with something from http://www.chiboards.com/ thats made from a member of the forums here. It looks like the cells are 18650 and have different voltages etc.

Basically my current setup could get up to 25mph and roughly 7 miles and I was hoping to keep that the same or more range is fine. Would a 12s2p 44.4v 5 AH or 10s3p 37v 7.5 AH setup be a better replacment and could anyone let me know additionally what I might have to change in the VESC if I get one of those two? I haven’t connected to it yet and am still going through a lot of videos to try and learn its values properly so I don’t mess anything up. I know the VESC currently operates in FOC mode.

Lastly thanks to anyone in advance for advice!

1 Like

12s2p a123 will have more current