Regenerative Braking - How does it work?

I am fairly new to the ESK8 community and I am working on building my first board. I have heard many things about regenerative breaking but I can’t figure out how it works or how to incorporate it into a board.

Can anyone help me better understand how regenerative breaking works? I would really love to have it on my board.

Thanks for reading this. I could really use some help.

1 Like

You set it in the BLDC tool. There is a “battery min (regen)” that is a setting in Amps and you set the maximum Amps that you want your board to charge the battery when you break. You can set it to 0 and pretty much disable it I think but I have never try it so dont take my word for it.

Depends if the ESC supports it. The VESC and all its iterations do. If BEMF voltage generated overcomes battery voltage, current will flow into the pack as you brake. The amount of current is controlled by the Battery Min value on BLDC tool.

1 Like

So the voltage created while breaking has to be greater than the present voltage of the battery or it will not regenerate the battery? If there was a way to control the BEMF voltage, then you could prevent regen braking from trying to overcharge the battery. Especially at lower pack voltages like 8s and 6s

I think this would be achievable with a more advanced bms, but I’m no EE. if you could apply bemf voltage toward a lower S count you could theoretically regen at slower speeds as well.

hmm I always wonder this. Let’s say you got two lipo batteries in series with NO BMS and 80% charged. You started from the top of a mountain let’s say. Does going down hill BALANCE charges your battery to 100%? I’m scared to go downhill because I don’t have an bms and I don’t know if it will mess up my battery voltage.