Running 12s motor with 6s batteries

Hey. I’m new to all of this but I’ve done tons of reading and already bought the components I need, specifically:

• Turnigy Aerodrove SK3 - 6374 149 kv Brushless Outrunner Motor (12s)
  • 2 Turnigy Multistar 6s 8000 mAh Lipo Batteries
  • VESC
  • FS GT2B 2.4GHz Transmitter/Receiver
  • 14:27 ratio

According to several online calculators I should be getting a weighted top speed of roughly 20mph.

I’m wondering if it’s possible to run the motor at 6s… that way I can link my batteries in parallel instead and double my range. It seems like I can configure my VESC (via the BLDC tool) to limit the voltage and current input to the motor. I would configure it to simulate a 6s setup. Is this possible? Will this harm the motor or the VESC? I realize my motor will be going half as fast, but cruising at 10mph is fine with me.

Thanks!

parallel will not double your range. Energy inside your pack will stay the same. Actually in series you might see higher range because the efficiency is better at higher voltages.

3 Likes

Say what now? Doubling your capacity and keeping your max speed the same doesn’t give you double range? Paint my fart green while you’re at it.

Going faster increases the energy used / kilometer and if you were to travel at 50% speed with the 12S you are operating on the worst possible duty cycle if you’re going for efficiency, AKA 50% duty cycle.

@Pafrican I have a very similiar setup to you voltage, motor and gear ratio wise with 6S, SK3 149KV and 15:30 ratio and my board cruises at 100% duty cycle at ~15 mph on flat with 80 mm diameter wheels. Here’s some pics in case you’re interested http://imgur.com/a/Mjodj

doubling your capacity will only increase your range if you add another pack in parallel instead of halving your voltage. It is all about energy in your pack.