Samsung 22p to 30q Battery Conversion (Benchwheel 6s4p)

Hi, I recently bought a Benchwheel Dual to see if electric skateboarding was for me. Turns out it very much is my thing and I’ve pre-ordered a Raptor 2. In the meantime I’m looking to upgrade the Benchwheel because it’s range has really dropped off and I’m thinking it’s the battery.

The board currently has Samsung 22p cells in a 6s4p configuration. Does anyone know of any reason why I couldn’t replace the cells with Samsung 30q cells? I am assuming that the existing charger and hardware will continue to work as expected but would really like to get some feedback before shelling out on 24 * 30q cells.

3 Likes

You absolutely could, if you’re prepared to solder them all up. You’d get a nice bump in total capacity as well.

1 Like

I’m no expert on batteries, but from a engineering perspective I don’t see any reason why not. The voltage will remain the same, I doubt the BMS cares about the amps, the motors might wear out pretty quick with the extra amps though.

1 Like

Thanks for getting back to me guys. I’m waiting to here back from a company that specializes in custom battery packs. I believe the heat from soldering can be damaging so I’m looking to get them spot welded.

Right, I’m off to buy some cells, hopefully I’ll have an update soon for anyone else considering doing the same.

The BMS DOES care about amp draw (as it’s probably fused), but the ESC will only pull as many amps through it as it was originally designed to. It’s not that the upgraded battery will push more amps just because it can. The board should feel exactly the same except with more range and possibly less voltage sag.

I repeat, the BMS does not care about amps. Specifically because it is NOT fused. I know this because I bought one for my kid and I work on it all the frikkin time.

1 Like

Fair enough. My mistake. But regardless, the ESC isn’t going to pull more current than it originally did.