SK8 ESC Turningy heating up , please need advice

Hi guys,

Sorry for another silly question, this is my first build. I connected my motor to ESC then ESC to batteries 2x 5s 5000mAh . after few seconds ESC got really warm, probably around 50C by feeling. It was just stand by, motor was not running. Is that normal ? I am bit scared as I dont want to blow it and I payed quite a money for it. ESC is SK8 turningy from hobbyking , should be able to do 12s.

PS : I did not program this ESC even though there is an option, manufacturer says it comes already set up ready to go.

Link the esc you have please

also after I paired my controller , motor was just doing like clicking sound and sort of turned 1 magnet ( I think) and I got 3 red flashes error. Could this be due to not setting it up specificaly to my batteries and motor ? still not sure about the temeperature thing though! I be happy for any advice. Thought this would be easier like connect hit remote and ride :smiley:

1 Like

Red lights not a good sign usually. Make sure your vesc is hooked up with the right polarity. Make also sure no any of your phase wires touch each other. Maybe also upload a picture from your set up.

Without motor detection it’s normal that motor not really spin. Watch the video @Grozniy linked too :wink:

I think you will be lucky if you haven’t fried your vesc

1 Like

Sounds like you have a short.

but how is that possible? no naked cables anywhere, ESC light up normally, right polarity, reciever got power too.

Look at the esc. It may have a bad solder on it. It’s not out of the rhelm of possibilities that you recieved a bad sk8 esc.

If you have flashing red lights on that vesc its dead. HK will replace it no problem if you open a fault with them. They will require the old one back most probably. And its always best to set it up before you use it if you’re running 12s.

2 Likes