Soldering iron advice

So i havent had a need for a soldering iron any of my past hobbies until now. So im new to soldering irons. What kind of wattage will i need and how hot does it need to get? I have about 50 usd to use on this and i wanted to ask first before i buy some random one from the auto shop i have near me and learn it isnt suitable.

I would seriously try to increase your budget and get a Weller WESD51.

If you must stay cheap, find the chunkiest looking Weller within your budget.

3 Likes

I was going to say the same thing until I saw the budget, then I left :rofl:

I’ve had many $50 ones fail but the WESD51 just always works, and works great.

1 Like

For the price weller is a solid choice, also a very solid option is this little guy:

https://www.amazon.com/NovelLife-Mini-TS100-Soldering-Digital/dp/B07D35B75T/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?hvadid=176302638120&hvdev=c&hvlocphy=9031939&hvnetw=g&hvpos=1t2&hvqmt=e&hvrand=10724625757763024161&hvtargid=kwd-145719817977&keywords=ts100+soldering+iron&qid=1554861454&s=gateway&sr=8-2-spons&psc=1

It has the advantage of being small, portable and you can power it directly from RC lipo. (Or usb-C battery pack with a QC trigger, like I do)

This is a really high quality iron, you might think otherwise. Search for reviews online, everyone loves it.

1 Like

It needs to be able to do 450C for many of these esk8 things

1 Like

Weller 100% I have like 5 irons, for doing heavy lifting I go to the weller every time.

1 Like

The only issue I’ve had with Weller was a pencil too becoming wallered out. Probably could’ve just drilled a hole or two for set screws, but I just bought a new pencil. It was probably my fault as I was hot swapping tips and tightening with channel locks.

You might also think about an FX888 from Hakko. More expensive, but it’ll save you a ton of frustration down the line with trying to solder stuff.

4 Likes