Speedy electric sk8 Dancing Board for high school physics

Hi Boarders, Recently I was caught at school (I’m a high school physics teacher) contemplating building an electric longboard for a dancing commuter to work by the students. Anyway it snowballed into a full on approved activity with a few other staff members wanting to build board as well. (this year we will run sessions on building a board, next year we may allow students to build, we need to work out any kinks). I have a plan and would love to get some feedback. Here is the plan

Purpose - Like to dance my way to work, but also need speed as I’m always running late. Will be using the build in High school physics (age 16-18 ) to introduce basic electric circuits, battery technologies, power calculations and motor winding.

• Board: Loaded Tarab (yes I know it is flexy but will engineer a solution) - its a sexy dancer

• Motors\truck - Possibly Hummies new Dual hub beasts (I’ve PM’d him about it)

• ESC - Dual VESC

• Battery - will recycle some 18650’s with the class for fun - will probably end up replacing them with Sammy 30Q’s at 10S4P maybe 10s3P

• BMS - Maybe one of those Bestech ones but I’m a model airplane flyer so I have a good high current balance charger that will do the job without BMS (Would like some running cell monitoring though)

There are a few challenges, I have looked a stiff boards but like the flexy ride and was thinking of putting batter packs near each truck, there is also a good mountain board solution on the forum I have seen to deal with board flex as well - some things to ponder over.

Anyway anyone with suggestions or comments on the gear above I’d love to hear them. I’ll post more info as the project takes shape and then will document with photos. I’ll also be happy to post power point slides on any theory that I create if anyone is interested.

Thanks

Adam

4 Likes