Spur gear motormount with integrated encoder

Hi, I have been developing this new motormount for a while(1-2 months) and i decided to make a topic about it.

What has been done?

• Truck adaptor plate, fits trampa cnc machined trucks.
  • Motor baseplate, designed for 63mm motors with 44mm bolt division.
  • Spur gears designed and ordered.
  • Stress analysis for mechanical parts.
  • 3D printed prototypes(Alot).
  • Designed magnetic encoder.
  • Cost optimization for parts.
  • Design cover with integrated encoder.

To Do :

• Finish magnetic encoder design and order.
  • Finish baseplate, truck adaptor design and order them cnc machined.
  • Design wheel adaptor and 3D print it.
  • Machine spur gears.
  • Test.

Old version:

Current version:

3 Likes

Great work so far!

So do you need a magnet on the motor shaft?

2 Likes

Yes. I have tried attaching 3d printed “magnet holder” on the shaft. That worked fine, but i think it could be more compact. For this i am trying to embed magnet inside the spur gear so i could save 3-5 mm of cover height.

What is the advantage of encoder compared with hall sensor inside the motors?

Normal esk8 motor has 7 pole pairs and 3 hall sensors, so it generates 42 pulses per revolution. 42 pulses / 360 degrees. 1 pulse equals ~8.57 degrees of resolution.

Encoder generates 4000 pulses / revolution ( 4000 pulses / 360 degrees), which equals 1 pulse / 0.09 degrees of resolution.

Higher resolution is important for FOC mode.

Increasing resolution, increases dramatically low speed torque and efficiency of motor, removes coqqing.

3 Likes

Are the gears steel or not steel?

Wheel spur gear is made of POM plastic and spur gear on the motor shaft is steel. It’s pretty common to use soft and hard material in drivetrain.

1 Like

Interesting design, I don’t think I’ve seen anyone with encoder integration quite yet.