The Basic Build (+hobbyking esk8 kit review!)

Alright guys, here is my first (successful) build after a month or two of riding and tweaking. Incredibly basic, no custom-fab of any kind, just some parts strapped on to a deck. This will also serve as a mini-review of hobbyking’s all-in-one esk8 kit, more of my thoughts on which can be found in the main HK esk8 thread.

First of all, an overview of my background: I have been skating and especially longboarding since I was around 10 years old, and I built my first board when I was 12, pressed (well, clamped) my own deck and all. I also have about 8 years experience in unmanned aircraft, and run a company building fixed wing cargo UAVs. This has given me a lot of experience with the same type of motors and batteries as are used on Esk8s, though I must say the VESC platform is incredible and I wish all escs were this configurable. Some of you may remember I joined this forum around a year ago as a design student, with big plans of building a tiny, AWD belt drive board using high-kv racequad motors and lower voltage lipo packs to create a powerful, lightweight penny-size electric boards. This, unfortunately, turned out to be pure student’s Hubris, And after around $3000 of my own investment and plenty of prototypes built, the fact that this ugly beginner single-drive is my first successful Esk8 build should tell you everything you need to know about how that previous endeavor went.

Anyway, the build:

The deck is a basic 36" downhill deck from skateshred, cheap but I’m very impressed with the quality. Solid with just enough give to be comfortable, great concave and a nice size.

Batteries are two Gens Ace TATTU 6s 7AH lipo packs in series for 12s. I used these because I can get them at trade price through my company, so for me they were the best price to performance option. 12s, 310 watt-hours is really nice for power and range too, I can get three or four serious riding days on these packs between charges.