The Humpback | 34" deck | Caliber II trucks | Turnigy SK3 6374 | APS mount | DIY 10S4P | FSESC 4.20

G’day guys. This is my first build, so I figured I should chuck it up on here, maybe the experts here can help me avoid making a some dumb mistakes… I’ve pretty much finished sourcing parts for my build, still waiting on the motor and motor mounts to arrive. I’m not sure if I’m going to go for an anti-spark switch or not, from what I’ve read on here they’re pretty unreliable and they’re exxy $$. I’ve got myself an XT90S connector in the meantime which I’ll use in the loop for the battery (hopefully I’ve understood correctly that this can be used in the absence of an on/off switch, pls correct me if I’m wrong.) Here’s what I’ve got so far, I’m currently deciding on my layout and soldering together the battery pack:

2 Likes

Looks good. Are those used cells or new? Loopkeys are the shit. Try really hard to find someone to weld your pack. Soldering them together is a not so good idea.

3 Likes

Is the idea of a loopkey to connect and disconnect the battery every time you want to use it? Any suggestions on how to set this up so it’s convenient? I guess the power drawn by the VESC when not in operation is pretty small anyway… They’re salvaged cells, picked 100 of them up for pretty cheap, I think they’re brand new though out of some faulty vacuum cleaners. I’m taking the risk with soldering cos I’ve got the spare cells anyway… would definitely get a spot welder if I build another pack though.

1 Like

What are you using for an enclosure? And for as small as your pack is, try and get some 18650 holers on Amazon. They’re cheap, then solder those together. If you have a bad cell pop it out and new one in much faster. And using salvaged cells it will happen. I use them all the time.

I’ve always had shit luck trying to solder them. And I can do anything! Not really.