To Build or Not to Build (beginner alternatives?)

Hello everyone!

I’ve been researching quite a bit this past week. I started out looking at the cheaper boards (Meepo, Wowgo, Backfire, ect) reading hundreds of reviews on reddit. Then I got curious and started looking at some of the better boards and realized my budget couldn’t handle a $2000 board… so then I made my way over to DIY. My budget has went from $400 to $600 to now around $1000 :grin:. The All Terrain boards really caught my attention because of my not so great streets near my home. I think I would feel safer on something with some bigger tires. And they just flat out look awesome! Plus I’m a bigger guy 6’5" 230lbs.

With that being said I’ve done quite a bit of reading on these forums and looking at other builds but I’m still a complete noob with all this DIY stuff. I’m not the handiest of dudes and some of this stuff looks pretty intimidating.

Right now I have a couple options for a AT esk8 ($1000 budget).

1. DIY - $937
  2. Raldey Carbon AT - $1099
  3. Meepo City Rider - $719

I was piecing together a DIY last night and came up with this. I’m sure I’m missing things like hardware and other additional expenses. So any help or comments or suggestions on the DIY parts list below would be great.

Motor: 2 - 6374 170KV (Dickyho eBay) = $100 + $9 shipping Wheels and Drive Kit: (Dickyho eBay) Drive Kit with 15/60 pulley = $138.00 + $44.00 shipping Battery: 10s4p Complete Battery Solution (mboards) = $344.99 Deck: MOOSE Longboard Skateboad Deck 9.5" x 42.25" Drop Through Cruiser Maple (eBay) = $38.95 Enclosure: DIYE Electric Skateboard Enclosure (ebay) = $54.99 ESC: Dual FSESC4.20 100A (Flipsky) = $159.00 Remote: 2.4Ghz Remote VX1 (Flipsky) = $49.00 TOTAL = $937.93