Trampa mountain board. Buy or build?

So I have been eyeing the 2019 Trampa mountain boards.

They seem to have an improved enclosed belt drive and with dual VESC 6 the price does not seem too bad. I don’t really like the open 6364 motors, but otherwise they look like a solid build. Another option would be to get the deck, trucks, wheels etc from trampa and build a board with dual focboxes and 6374 motors and e-toxx gear drive. From a draft spreadsheet I made, it seems the final cost will be more or less the same in both cases. Also I weigh 78kg without gear (so 85-90kg with everything on including a backpack). I am torn between the 16 vs the 17 ply. I have no mountain boarding experience so have no idea what I would prefer as far as stiffness goes. So far I am leaning towards the 16ply as I am afraid that if the board is too stiff it will become very tiring in the rocky terrain we have here. I am open to any ideas and suggestions.

4 Likes

e-toxx gear drive all the way :wink: i´m 85kg and very happy with 16ply. not too stiff not too flexy as for my taste.

5 Likes

You have to weigh in the hours here, theres considerably more tinkering with one of the options. Also getting everything in the same parcel and time is always a nice plus.

Personally havn’t tried trampas own closed drive, bet its awesome. I own an etoxx spurr drive tho and have nothing bad to say there either.

1 Like

Getting a prebuilt board is definitely easier for me. I have no problem building it myself but honestly I would rather spend my limited free time riding it. Plus I would not have to ship a hanger to Germany and order all the other stuff from various vendors. This way I only have to build the battery (probably 12S7P 30Q ) and until then I could ride the board with the lipos I have for my RC helis (2x 5000mAh Thunderpower packs and 2 x5000 Turnigy packs) as long as they fit in the battery box.

1 Like