Upgrading the motor on a bought skateboard

Hello. I am pretty new at this, just so don’t kill me if I make say something stupid :slight_smile:

I bought an electric longboard for a year ago. Now I am interested in an upgrade of the motor for a faster acceleration and top speed. I am not the greatest at electronics, but I now a little. I know I have a 25V battery on my skateboard, and I’m not really interested in replacing it (yet). I have been looking at this:

If I have a 25V 8Ah lithium battery, and the max amp on the new motor is 80A, won’t I get 2000W out of the motor then? And will I run into trouble with my ESC because of the motor upgrade? (I know very little on the ESC)

I now have a 1200W motor that runs about 20mph, and I hope it will get a bit faster

I hope somebody can help me learning. Regards Mikael :slight_smile:

You will have to look into the ESC as companies provide barely enough headroom for personal upgrades.

But do you think it is necessary to open it up? Will it affect the ESC if I change to motor?

It would help if you told us what make of board you are trying to upgrade. 20mph is actually pretty good. In my opinion, if your wanting to go faster, you should consider building a custom diy board.

1 Like

You are probably right. I am just interested in a few more mph. It doesn’t have to be anything wild. Don’t you think it would be possible if the current motor is replaced? Thank you

https://www.amazon.com/Electric-Skateboard-Longboard-Falcon-Board/dp/B01ILZ7Q7U

you can upgrade the motor. But you could just add 3s battery in series and a better speedcontroller.

My friend had this board and I had the speedcontroller laying around. Now it goes just over 40km/h. Not the best torque (motor is small) but still decent!

Okay. That sounds Exciting. Do you know which speedcontroller he used?