VESC FAQ | Limit output voltage according to motor maximum specs

Hi,

I’m new in VESC utilisation. I was wondering if it’s possible to limit the VESC output voltage according to the max motor voltage.

Why ? Simply because my actual motor is 10S max (Aerodrive SK3 215kv), with a 6S max HobbyKing ESC. I’ll upgrade to VESC, with 2x 6S attery and I 'would not change my motor …

Is it possible with this device ? I already found there is an option for rpm limitation, but i’m not sure it will be enought to avoid firing my motor …

YES, you can do it.

In BLDC tool / Motor Configuration / Motor

This is recommended for anyone with 12S Battery & Motor over 200KV

1 Like

@onloop could you elaborate as you why? I was planning on using 2 6s in series to make a 8000 mAh 12s to run 2 VESCs and a dual drive carvON. I don’t want to damage the VESC, but by my math, a 12s can max out at 50.4 volts (4.2 per cell X 12 cells), which is well under the 60 volt max limit for the VESC.

The enertion shop page says up to 60 volts or 12s, but 60 volts would be a 14s, so can the VESC run on a 14s battery?

this reason…

I get that but what’s the science behind it?

Voltage rating of the components in the VESC.

Is that true ? I thought that VESC was not recommended when used with 12S voltage and motors over 200KV.

Sorry, I misinterpreted the question. Some interesting reading material that might shef light on the subject.

1 Like

@onloop @trbt555 Could either of you elaborate on how to properly set the voltage and current limits on VESC? What you base the values on? The motor’s limit, or the battery’s potential output, or some combination of those? I’ve not found a place where anyone describes how to derive the right values. @trbt555 I know you’ve written at least once about exceed VESC’s threshold and have your power cut off. How do you avoid that now?

1 Like