VESC fault code ABS_OVER_CURRENT

Im in the process of building my first electrc skateboard so I am new to this. Everything was working perfectly until I brought the board outdoors for the first test when the motor just would not spin. I took it back inside and the vesc gave me fault code ABS_OVER_CURRENT and i could not get it to work, even after tweaking the current settings (Running in FOC btw). After letting the board sit over night I tried to re-configure the motor and it works perfectly again for a couple of minutes and then the motor stops spinning and i get the same fault code again.

This is the latest fault code I got and here are my settings:

image image

Currently i get the fault code while trying to measure the flux linkage, that is why it is set to 100,000 mWb.

Setup:
Flipsky VESC 4.12
Flipsky 6374 190kv 3250W
12s battry

What VESC do you have?

Sorry, its a Flipsky esc 4.12

4.12 hardware is not so good with FOC, some faults with bad capacitance choosing and FET choise . Go and try BDLC.

1 Like

Im having the same problems with BLDC. I will go test again and come back with results

While trying to detect the motor in BLDC:

I still have the same current settings. The motor twitches once and then the vesc blinks red, nothing happens for a couple of seconds then the motor freaks out.

Set absolute max current on 120A and you are ready to go. I had 90A on my focbox and also had over current. After I switched it to 120A (default setting) the fault was gone.

Btw: run your vesc in blcd

1 Like

And also, according to the real time data, the vesc (or motor?) is drawing ~0.1A while not doing anything… Is that normal? Since i dont remember it doing that in the beginning?

@pjotr47 This is in bldc with abs max current set to 120A

Do you have a fault code while motor detection?

then try absolute max at 130 or 140a

Yes that one is from the detection

Is it really that easy? Sounds like I could just set it to 200A then?