VESC in a Metroboard, yay or nay?

The background is this: I have a 2014 Metroboard still with the older remote and I really prefer the mini remote more.

I spoke to Ilan, and due to the year of the board, I’ll have to buy the new ESC ($125) and new remote ($99).

Since I have to get a new ESC anyway, I figured why not get a VESC (or whatever they’re being called nowadays) and the same remote, which I can get for $20.

I’m posting here because this is my first time doing anything with a VESC so want to ask if there is any reason why I shouldn’t do it. Thanks!

2 Likes

You will need 2 vescs so about $300. Plus cost of remote. Is vesc worth that much to you?

He probably has a single motor, as the dual drive weren’t out in 2014.

Is that case definitely a good choice to go with a focbox.

Thanks for the responses guys. Yes, I have a single motor Metrobaord, the hardwood one, in fact.

I was actually looking for any advice on why I shouldn’t do this electronically but I think there isn’t any. Will buy the parts and slowly thinker around with this and report back. Thanks!

Metroboards are a good, solid foundation, there is no reason this won’t work. It may cost more than using Ilan’s ESC.

Not sure why a remote would be $99 – Mini remotes can be had for $25

$99 for the remote is what it would cost me if I get it from Ilan. That’s the price that I was quoted by him, and it’s the price of the remote upgrade kit on the website.

Probably comes with a PCB that interfaces the remote receiver to the ESC. You will need that. That’s slightly different than just a remote and a receiver

But if I get a VESC, then I won’t need the PCB right?

That’s correct. You can use any remote with the VESC

Thanks for the confirmation, definitely going the VESC route then.