VESC Not smooth

Hey, So I’m having issues configuring my vesc to be smooth. Its very loud (I think without the wheel on it is much louder. Should i have done the motor configuration with no wheel on? It adds resistance and i wasnt sure if it should have been on or not) but you can see the controls are not smooth at all. It detects the remote throw correctly, but then the motor is either on max power or not when I test it Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlNjx6HdpBI note i do press “Write to vesc”

You can see that if i push it up very slowly there is not a linear increase, it just ramps up and stays on full power. There is a lot of throw left in the remote and it stays at the same speed the entire time

if your in foc increase switching frequency

motor detection etc should be done without the belts on

1 Like

By what magnitude? I’m new to setting up VESCS

i think the max is 40khz that sound seems normal to me, its kinda loud try in foc and the thing why your motor does not start with small amount of throttle is because it doesnt have sensors probably

Where you have this from? I thought it’s without load… :thinking:

That isnt really the issue though, I dont mind noise. The issue is the unusable throttle curve going on. I’ll switch up the FOC. The starting smoothness isnt a big issue to me, its just the fact that 10% of the remotes throw is used. The PPM Percentage dosent follow “Duty” at all, what happens is once the remote hits a certain threshold, it just ramps up to 100% power. I want the remote to control the speed of the motors but it dosent

the belt and wheel is a load…

1 Like

:see_no_evil::see_no_evil::see_no_evil::see_no_evil: Yes sure…already late here :see_no_evil: Read with belt on… sorry my bad

Did you setup your input source with min max and 0 value?