VESC - Reversing a sensored motor

My motor is turning in reverse and I can’t find a way to change the direction in software. (besides using the nunchuck in reverse).

I’ve tried swapping phases (which works for reversing), but the hall sensor detection always fails now. I think I’ve tried all the permutation of swapping the hall sensor wires and it always fails.

Any idea how to reverse direction, besides mounting the motor on the opposing wheel ?

It seems like it should be possible in software - if I can do it from the nunchuck.

Im not really a VESC expert but I’ll try to help.

Put the phase wires in the way you say detection works. Turn off power, unplug vesc from computer. Flip outside phase wires. Turn vesc back on, plug in and connect. Try detection again.

Again, I’m no VESC expert but it worth a try.

Edit - From VESC Tool: Z-Button: The Z-button is used to change the direction of the motor if reverse is activated. Without reverse, Z has no effect.

Edit 2: Make sure control mode is disabled. You may have it on, and forgot to change it. (App config, PPM) make sure to write config and then reboot the VESC.

Sadly the sensor inside the motor are possibly badly place, they are probably too far from the stator, or in a small angle, that could lead them to work in one direction but not the other. :worried:

You can open the motor to see if you can move the sensor, but they are most likely to be pot in epoxy.

I guess to best outcome, is to change the side of the motor, or just run without sensor.

@JLabs how do you know which one are the outside phase wires ?

There is a black, a blue and a yellow wire.

It will go in reverse with Z activated, but I would like to avoid pressing Z all the time.

I’ll try all the suggestion, and eventually switch motor side if nothing works.