VESC Static Spark? One VESC not working

Board Info: Dual Motor x2 170 KV x2 VESC 4.12 Li ion 12s3p Battery VESC Firmware 2.52 (With Ackmaniacs BLDC Throttle Control Mod)

My board was working great until yesterday when one of my motors cut out and I couldnt get it running again. I got home started testing, after running motor detection I think that my Intergrator Limit and BEMF coupling values were wrong on both VESCs/Motors (This baffled me because im almost certain I set them correctly on initial setup).

I didnt think the board would even run with wrong values but anyway im still a novice really. My MASTER VESC seems to be fine with both motors detected and are responding normally via Remote Control but when I press Right on the keyboard either connected motor will stutter and barely spin (due to the incorrect values maybe?).
With my SLAVE VESC neither motor is detected and I get the “Bad Motor Detection Result” message, after typing “Fault” into the TERMINAL page I get “FAULT CODE NONE” and typing “Faults” it tells me “No Faults Registered Since Startup”. So, the LED lights all function as normal on SLAVE VESC the only thing is when I move it I hear the sound of spark but I cannot see where its coming from. This spark has also interfered with my battery indicator (blinks stating 0%). After rebooting the SLAVE VESC battery indicator returned to normal (84%). All my other BLDC settings look correct for my setup…

Here are pictures of the SLAVE VESC , I cant see any differences to the MASTER VESC…

Ive tried to give as much info as possible to see if anyone can help determine the cause of this and perhaps confirm if this VESC is beyond repair.

Thanks

If you hear a sparking sound when moving the vesc it might be the cables from the battery coming into contact with something. Check the soldering on the capacitor PCB and where the wires go onto the vesc. Will propably have to remove the heat shrink.

1 Like