What is the best way to waterproof an esk8?

Hi! I’m still new to the Eboard game here, but I’ve ordered some parts for my first build and while I wait for them to ship I’m wondering what some people think the best way to waterproof an esk8 might be. I’ve seen all sorts of plastic and ABS housings on this forum, but do some work better than others? What about waterproofing the motor itself? I want to build a board that will last, especially if I ride through the occasional puddle. What are your guys’ thoughts?

Everything besides the motor should be doable to make waterproof. But I’m not sure about the motor itself. A recent video on Jacobs Youtube channel just mentioned that the enertions do have a special coating to make them (semi (the windings)) water/splashproof. Dunno about the sk3, but I doubt it.

I thought that I read somewhere that brushless outrunner motors were fine if they got splashed with water. Might have to look more into that.

there are no open/bare contacts like a brushed motor, so theoretically they are completely waterproof (as long as the bearings are waterproof). in practice though, water can/will damage them over time.

use ceramic bearings. Then your motors will be fine for the most part. I’ve ridden through rain quite a few times with my r-spec II and never had any issues.

Most brushless motors shouldn’t have a problem being dipped in water. You can waterproof your vesc, receiver and battery using corrosion-x and plastidip.

Bearings however, dont really like water in the long term. EDIT like @mentioned: Ceramic bearing of course could help if you have the spare change. But there are also bearings inside the motor where you most probably not find ceramic versions of.

1 Like
6 Likes

Has anyone had experience with an sk3 getting wet? Haven’t built my board yet, but I wanted to ride it after it rained.

1 Like

Cover everything in rtv silicone