What VESC to get?

So I have most of the parts to my eboard picked out, except for one very important part: the VESC. My board will be running a 10s4p from 30q, with a single 190kv motor, which according to this esk8 calculator, should give me roughly 50k eRPM, which I thought would be fine on a 4.12 VESC, so I decided to get the Torqueboards VESC. However, after some more research, I saw that there were a lot of people who blew their TB VESC while running a pretty similar setup to me. I am a college student, and I’m trying to keep costs pretty low. Do you guys think the TB 4.12 would be sufficient, or would I have to get a different 4.12 or step it up to a FOCBOX or VESC 6? Or could I just deal with a decent quality ESC. Any help is appreciated

Do you wanna run it in FOC?

Most likely BLDC, since I’ve heard its easier on 4.12. However I could be wrong about this as I have no experience.

It’s correct. If you are not interested in FOC then you can also look to Torqueboard vesc, meytech and save some money. Also hobbyKing’s vesc will work. Although I see you are going with a 10s 4p 30q which cost you money and can deliver 80A continuously. With the previous mentioned vesc you better set the battery max to 30A and you can understand that it’s way lower your real potential. So to me either you move to dual and then two TV, meytech vesc will use 60A.pr you stick with one and you set it to 30A still powerful and great range with 4p or you invest a little more money and go with Focbox or even better vesc6 and use more of your board potential.

1 Like

Running BLDC will reduce the risk of problems. And simplify the setup if your using BLDC tool to set it up

The TB VESC is rated for 50A continuous, are you saying to limit it to 30 to reduce risk of damaginf the VESC? Also, If I understand how this works correctly, limiting the current through the motor would affect only my acceleration (but not braking?), not top speed, and will probably slightly increase range