What would a deck need to be considered the greatest?

After trying to buy the perfect board, I have decided just to build one from scratch. I have no experience with building boards, and I’ve never even eskated before. That said, I still think I’ll be able to build something decent since I’ve been riding high-end boards and prototypes since the beginning of high school. Since a decade has passed since I first got into longboarding, I figured it’s time that I finally start contributing to the culture.

Since I’m building something to fill my needs, I’m leaning towards building a low-profile; small to midsize cruising deck with an integrated battery/electronic compartment, a relatively lightweight, stiff deck, and tough/strong/robust build quality.

I’m leaning towards making it primarily out of carbon fiber, though I can be convinced to use different materials instead. If I can make something that I’m proud of, I’d consider selling it if people are interested, but this isn’t an advertisement tbh, I’m just trying to make a deck worth owning.

Any advice, however trivial, would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to leave any complaints/issues that you have with other boards or companies. Also, if there are any threads or links you think I should check out, just post them or message me. I am still a noob in terms of electronics/drivetrains, so I know I can always learn more.

2 Likes

it would need to be the perfect fit for your needs. Maybe you could use a rails system to adjust the foot positioning and truck everything to create such perfect setup.

1 Like

I’ve never hear of a rail system before. Does anyone else make a board with a rail design? If so, I’d like to check out their products for inspiration. I wanted to incorporate something like rails on the underside to help protect the board when going off curbs, but I don’t think that’s what you had in mind.

1 Like