Wheels don't spin freely, is it the spacers?

Morning guys! Help me out here, I’m new at this! I’m on my first step on the way of building my electric longboard and I’ve already got a problem. I put the two bearings and a spacer on two of my wheels, and while they spin freely on the axle, they don’t anymore once I tighten the nut. Washers also are correctly in place on each end of the axle. Now I’ve come to understand that it might be because of the spacer. Could it be just that? If yes, I don’t know how to solve this. If I loosen a bit the nut, the wheel spins fine but I don’t think it’s the right solution. Also, if I have to remove the spacer to solve the issue, I don’t know how to do that. Is it even possible without compromising the bearing? Thanks in advance guys!

Just loosen the nut a tad, you’re probably overtightening

1 Like

Most likely this ^^ however if you already have the wheel pulley attached my issue was the nuts holding the pulley on where rubbing against the truck axel and not allowing it to spin freely

1 Like

All right, thanks a lot guys, I’ll loosen the nut a bit and hopefully I won’t loose the wheel while riding :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:. @SpeedyGornzallez it’s not the pulley wheel but good advice! I’ll keep that in mind when I’ll get to that part :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Ok guys, I made it as far as mounting the motor (hopefully well, we’ll see), now I have a couple of more questions. I’m going to upload a picture to better show you the situation.

The obvious connection to me was the one between the battery and the vesc. I also see the obvious connection between the motor and the vesc, though I don’t know if the 3 black wires need to follow an order, since they’re all black and there’s nothing written on them.