Why do we use Vedder Antispark switches when we can just do this?

1 Like

so a mosfet switch? that’s what the vedder is

1 Like

It just seems overcomplicated and overpriced then?

It’s not complicated, it’s 3 mosfets in series because you will have trouble finding a single switch able to handle the current and voltage. Someone explain to me what r2 and c1 are for though

All my questions have been answered, thank you. :slight_smile:

Wait, so a “inrush limiter” is not a inrush limiter but rather just a mosfet switch? ?

I think the resistor and cap might be there for inrush limiting but you’d have to ask someone better at EE, I’m just a little programmer

It’s not and it’s not.

you have multiple mosfets in parallel to be able to use high currents and some additional parts to allow a range of voltages and safety features to keep the mosfets healthy.

The switch is like 30 bucks with the most expensive parts being the mosfets and the PCB. a mosfet like this is a couple bucks each so that adds up.

You can make the switch out of breadboard if you want to save a couple bucks.

1 Like

Thanks you for clearing things up for me :slight_smile:

The Zener diode injects a forward voltage of 12V, so the difference between the Gate and Source voltage is independent of the battery voltage

R2 and C1 in combination are the so-called “current inrush limiters”

• R2 limits the current to C1

• C1 is a capacitor and therefore it takes a finite time to charge and discharge. When first activating the switch, C1 slowly “fills up” until the Drain voltage reaches is high enough to open the mosfet. If you have a voltage meter installed on your board, you’ll notice it takes a second or two to reach full pack voltage (i.e., not instantaneously)

This is what prevents the spark and activates the circuit… or so I understand it. But I’m a mechanical/aerospace guy, not an electrical engineer :wink:

2 Likes

Very good explanation, but is the current limiting necessary?