Wiring 12s bms bypass or not

This is the bms I have, how do I wire it for bypass? It only has p- and b-

It’s rated for 40amps should I bypass or not? I’m using turnigy lipo 4s 5ah 20c x3 in series so I should get about 100a at most

If you have a Vesc there is not reason to discharge through bms. As for the wiring, attach a wire coming from your negative lead to the b- port, and your negative charge wire to the p- port. Good luck building!

1 Like

Yeah that bms at 40 amps is a discharge bottle neck. The VESC actually does a stand up job balancing on discharge. It’s witch craft to me but I have a 10s 3p with a blown bms that I have been running without now for a couple of months and every now and again test the p packs to check and all show the same voltage. If you’re going to run 12s make sure the bms if wired for discharge can handle it or it will take control and either pop or shut down the board. No fun at all. you have to also consider over voltage with regenerative braking. Full charge downhill braking will shut down the battery if wired for discharge. KSSS.

1 Like
1 Like

Thanks guys!

Yes there is, the only reason people do not use discharge bmss is because of their side You loose a lot of protection when you bypass

2 Likes

If your battery stays balanced without a bms, it is because your battery’s cells are well matched in terms of capacity and internal resistance so that they charge and discharge evenly.

The Vesc has nothing to do with it.

2 Likes

Like I said its witch craft to me Thanks for that. Got to say though I must be pretty lucky considering the battery in question is a cheap and nasty item. Could you elaborate please? I was under the wrong impression and I don’t like that. :neutral_face:

The Vesc only monitors the voltage at its input and initially cuts back power before shutting down when that voltage reaches the low voltage values set in the Vesc tool or BLDC tool.