120kv, 1.5kW brushless motor for a single motor setup

Hello guys, I am a newbie in e-skating and actually also in skating world. Nevertheless I am to building an e-longboard. I need an advice regarding a motor. I am proposed the brushless D-Power BL 6362/120 motor, I guess some kind of German brand, I am located in Berlin. Basically specs are the following:

• dimensions: 62 x 60 mm
  • weight 550g
  • 120 kv
  • 1500 W
  • battery support up to 12s
  • price: 40 euros = 46 USD

I wonder if this motor is ok for my setup? I’ve learnt that the less kv i have, the higher torque and lower max speed I get. However when I make some calcs with a standard variables like 15 teeth pinion and 36 teeth spur, 83 mm wheels and 24V battery I get 19 km/h as a max speed. I wonder if that’s acceptable (pls keep in mind I have no clue how fast it means since I tried skate/longboarding 3-4 times).

The items I already have in a setup are:

• 83mm abec wheels
  • 27 cm long, 9 mm wide, pitch 5 belt

I also understand that I can theoretically increase max speed by using different spurs and pinions however not sure that the length of my belt (27 cm) allows that.

What would be a difference if I use for example this: http://alienpowersystem.com/shop/brushless-motors/alien-5065-fr-outrunner-brushless-motor-270kv-2000w/ or this motor: RC C6364 245kv

thanks in advance!

Hey bro…

Let’s start here…use a 70-75 efficiency :metal:t2:

1 Like

Hi, Michael! Thanks a lot. That’s what I get with the most standard numbers and 120kv: