49” flexible 8s15p direct drive 100km cruiser

Engineering the esk8 of my dreams, from the drawing sowftware to the road in 6 month; a picture story:

1. Specs
  2. How
  3. Let’s build
  4. Testing

I will provide all files I made and product links I used.

1. Specs:

I am a junior mechatronics engineer and also love to esk8. It so happened that I had 2000EUR to blow, so here it comes! I have already built 2 smaller boards but this time I want to go all out, over the winter there shell be no compromises, take time and money it takes.

I want my dream esk8 to be like:

• comfortable to ride
  • reliable
  • at least 45"
  • last 100km on a full charge at good conditions
  • charge to 80% under 2h
  • fully programmable
  • 40km/h top speed for cruising efficiently

2. How:

Find a drive solution, find a controller, estimate power consumption, calculate a battery capacity, choose the cells. Based on that lay out the pack and simultaneously choose the deck.

In favor of reliability I chose a direct drive. Torque Boards DD was my best bet but I found Boundmotor who offers a similar solution for half the prize, they were really nice in their customer service so I got their DD. The drives gives me 40km/h on an 8s setup so this is preferred. To drive them I went with the Flipsky vESC DUAL 6.6 since it checks all the marks on my list. Power consumption was estimated to be 10Wh/km with the help of experiences from r/ElectricSkateboarding (spoiler: it turned out to be pretty accurate). I needed roughly 1kWh of energy to go 100km, after extensive testing different cells (see the cell test sheet I linked at the end of the post) I settled on 120 NCR18650B cells. Now I know the deck would have to be large. Therefore I got the largest I could find, after I had roughly calculated that the battery pack can fit on it if I give my best at packing them tight.

Once everything mentioned arrived I stated laying out a CAD design with evolved into this: