7s1p wiring diagram help

Hi all, noob here, upgrading and building a new 7s1p battery for my ebay pennyboard as a first simple little DIY project to get my feet wet. Please let me know if my diagram looks correct, don’t want to blow anything. Will be using sanyo 20700b cells, upgraded from 22p. Also, will switching from 10A cells (22P) to 15A cells (20700B) affect my BMS/ESC? Thank you, really appreciate all the advice.

New%20Doc%202018-07-20_1

Hello!

1. You diagram is wrong. The BMS balance Lead should have 8 connections for 7S. If you BMS have only 7 connections, it may probably means its for 6S.

2)You would need to check your BMS rated Discharge limits. I would reconmend having the dischage limit higher than what the battery can provide. Tho you can also use the BMS soley for charging purpose and bypass the BMS for the ESC connection.

1. Again, it depends on what type of ESC you are using. I highly guess it’s not VESC based since it’s from ebay… Nonetheless, for example, your esc consume a max of 10A only, upgrading your batteries to 15A is pretty pointless except for increased range. Though 15A still seems pretty low to me…

Why not try the Samsung 30Q or 25R?

Every bms is different, it’s possible having 7s bms with with 8 connections, the B- is the 8th connection :wink:

grtz

3 Likes

I do not get the idea of your charging wires. C- is for charge negative and positive goes on main positive. Maybe you mean that but your drawing does not show poles. Also 1p is suicidal and inefficient. Using 2p you will have an almost decent battery and 3p is probably good enough.

Well the negative comes from the C- of the BMS and the positive from the main positive, I just labeled CH as charging, if you do see my drawing, it is coming from the main positive, I should have written c- instead of ch on the bms.