And now for somthing completely different - Pedal car Esk8

image image image I just joined the forum. I am building a 1960s pedal car into a motorized car as a birthday gift for my son.

The dimensions of the body are very small:

12.5" wide (inside dimensions at back wheels) 34" long 24" wheelbase 7" wheels car body w/o drivetrain weighs ~10lbs

I tried to build it up using small go-cart parts but it just wasn’t working unless I put the wheels several inches outside the body and it changed the look too much. It’s just such a narrow body.

After digging around online - It turns out some Esk8 parts would fit in it very nicely! I’m completely new to the industry - here’s what I’ve figure out so far:

-evolve makes a 305mm wide truck/axle that would fit really well in the back.
-evolve also happens to sell 7" pneumatic tires (though I know others do too) -I am going to build an aluminum frame (chassis) for it and it will have go-cart style steering in front (not a skateboard truck in front)

Goals of the build:

-configurable to at least two speeds ~12MPH (for small kids) and ~20MPH (for big kids) -dual motor -great slow speed response -TORQUE!
-great maneuverability at low speed with good stop and go throttle modulation -I prefer a wired throttle (foot throttle) but would settle for something else -I do unfortunately have a budget - and I don’t even want to share it as it will likely discourage advice - but I do want a solid build. -I prefer using my ~1,000 watt hours of Milwaukee power tool batteries as the battery source if possible.

I am ready to buy parts today as I only have a couple of weeks. . . .

Need to settle on axle, mounter mounts, motors, computer, batteries, and then get it shipped and build it as quick as possible.

I have poked around the for sale section but there is a LOT there to sift through and figure out for a new guy…

How would you guys do this unique build???

DAGAD

14 Likes